Nov 29 2007
Bloggers Beware: adol77dai51 is not your new fan
My new blog is not even completely set up yet as I’m writing this, and I just received an e-mail notification telling me that a brand new member (my first one actually) just registered on my site. Exciting, heh? Not really. Rather intriguing actually. There is absolutely nothing on my website so far, it probably hasn’t even been picked up by search engines yet, and somehow this person happens to find me and decides to sign up as a member? Weird.
I quickly googled both his username adol77dai51 and his e-mail address adolfodaine77@gmail.com . The e-mail address didn’t give too many results, but his screen name on the other hand … over 9,000! All from random sites that have nothing to do with each other, and are in every imaginable language. He seems to just obsessively register to every blog he sees, and appears to be linked to several spam sites. He especially seems to favor Wordpress blogs. For all I know, he could even be a bot. I didn’t waste a whole lot of time looking into this, but a couple of interesting blog posts about him can be found here and here.
I figured I’d rather be safe than sorry, so I immediately deleted this user *cough* spammer. You might want to do the same.
























I have had exactly the same thing happen to me adolfodaine77@gmail.com registered on my blog, which has only been up a short while (It is Wordpress also) and has yet to be found by the search engines. A google brought me here so I have taken your stance and deleted him.
So strange! It looks like A TON of people are looking him up right now, which makes me think it’s definitely a bot.
What blows my mind is how many referring hits I’m getting from your site, considering this seems to be the only post so far. You’ve got a ton of traffic for just a single post! I’m impressed.
I just got the same thing. Nobody else has added me. I am on word press. I found your post by doing a google search for his email address.
lol@Cube! I know! The whole situation is becoming quite funny. This Adol is going to be an internet celebrity before this year is over if he keeps registering all over the net like that
I was so excited that my totally under the radar blog had someone that is not a friend in real life wanted to register.. So I googled him/her/it …
where do you think it got the list of WordPress blogs from?
Just had another thought about this… Could he/she/it be trying to up the pagerank/google juice by spamming the url link in the user name?
I don’t know, I’m thinking it’s just a bot programmed to sign up to any wordpress blog it crawls. I don’t get the purpose of it though; unless it’s just to gather information such as e-mail addresses (for spamming) … who knows? He never seems to actually post any comments.
Is there anyway to tell it it tried any exploits that it would need commenting access for?
In my case, not. Because I haven’t set any restrictions to my comments. Non-members can comment freely, and at this point, there are no special advantages to being a member on my site. So I don’t know. I’m still a bit puzzled too lol
Do you know anything about this guy we think he is envolved in scamming victims of crime.
Ahh, i just discovered the same thing on my blog.
I’m glad im not th eonly person wondering who this “adol77dai51″ is. Time to delete him.
Would be interested to discover what their purpose is.
Cheers
[...] 37 search results from both English, Cyrillic and German sites reporting similar registrations, here, here and here. Apparently this guy is not just the the fan I thought he was, but a new category of [...]
[...] turns out adol77dai51 is just a spammer. Or a bot. Or a bot spammer. Or a spammer bot. Or something. Just thought I’d add my 2 cents [...]
[...] particulier ceux utilisant Wordpress) ce sont plains de ce même identifiant (comme sur le blog de Karrals). Alors attention aux nouveaux bloggeurs qui croiraient à un nouvel abonné. Il ne semble pas [...]
[...] LINK TO WEBSITE [...]
The same happened to me. My WP blog doesn’t have any content, it is pretty new, and I was shocked to see someone register, so I search google and found this haha.
Thanks for the information. It is truly a networked world, in addition to the puzzling
fact, “who is adol77dai51?”, I am amazed how we found the information and get together through the google search!
Cheers
Today it came on my wordpress-powered blog, and thanks to you it got deleted within the first minute. Thanks, guys.
I had adol77dai51 as a registered user on my system - I guess for a while. I deleted the account last night, and guess what happened this morning… He/She/It was back. Deleted the account again - and sent an email to the GMail email address. I am not holding my breath for a reply
good to know
thanks for the advice
[...] Bloggers Beware Nice Try. [...]
[...] fetish? Well adol77dai51 of adolfodaine77@gmail.com, two names just vague enough for me to do some research, and I am on to you! Alas our budding new relationship will never bloom into a fully fledged [...]
[...] appeared on other blogs too. Many have written about it, and some of these discussions can be found here, here, and here. Most of the bloggers whose posts contained discussions of adol77dai51 concluded [...]
favorited this one, brother
Just a heads up. I’ve been cleaning up a big mess.
If you’ve had this user, go to your FTP and check for a directory called 1. Somehow two of my Wordpress sites had this directory added. It’s filled with nothing but link after link of casino sites. I deleted the directory from each site and changed my password to a super strong one for each. I hope there is no hidden code anywhere.
I don’t know how the hacker did it. The common denominator between the two sites was the fact that it had the same user…. adol77dai51.
Thankfully, neither site was using adwords at the time!
Not cool!
Hey “Mad As Heck”! That’s very strange! I’ve actually never heard of this and never had this problem either. I don’t know how long you kept adol77dai51 as your subscriber, so who knows, maybe you left him on too long? I don’t know. In any case, that really sucks, and you’re the first one to actually report such problem. Good thing you noticed it and fixed it though. Thanks a lot for sharing!
Cheers
Karrals
Thanks a lot, dude